Ancient Kamiros

Taking the car for another spin around Rhodes we contemplated a trip to Lindos to see the ancient ruins. Having read the write up we felt with one bad ankle and a dodgy kneee between us the steep climb during the midday sun possibly 36degrees was not a sensible choice.

We then found Kamiros, a lesser known site which to all its write up seems a better choice. Arriving, we parked under the only bit of shade and walked up the gentle slope to the entrance.

I thought of my archeological sister in law and wondered what this would mean to her.

The trees and flowers lined the entrance which opened up to the most stunning site most likely around 900BC the Late Early Geometric period. Wow was the mouth action, truly amazed and almost speechless. Set against the brilliant Greek blue sky, lined with Rosemary bushes stood the edges of a tow. Houses of various sizes, cisterns, baths and real look at Greek history.

Despite earthquakes Kamiros was inhabited until the earthquake I. 142bc.The chance to sit under the trees and absorb the ambiance was truly peaceful. It was nice having the time and space, absorbing the stillness of time.

From the edge of the cliff there are spectacular view of Turkey. The deep blue sea along with the blue sky made it quite mesmerising. I am glad we made the trip out.

Leaving the city ruins, we meandered down the windy hill, to a taverna next to the sea. A beautiful place to sit and reflect the day, with a glass of local beer. Cool and refreshing,

Author: Katyprice

I write short stories, Novels and poetry. inside my head I have a lot of stories to tell. I am not sure what to write about me, as mad as a box of frogs? as useful as a chocolate teapot.

Leave a comment